MEET THE TEAM

The iGEM Team Berlin consists of 17 students from various universities in Berlin. Represented are the Technische Universität Berlin, University of Applied Sciences Berlin, Freie Universität, University of the Arts as well as the Humboldt University. The team members come from diverse disciplines. From biotechnology, biochemistry, computer science, mathematics, mechanical engineering to the history of science and technology, everything is represented. Just the interdisciplinary nature of the team allows us to jointly develop solution strategies from different perspectives.

Hosted by Prof. Dr. Nediljko Budisa from the TU Berlin, our lab is located at the Müller-Breslau-Straße 10, 10623 Berlin.

Come by for a visit (Monday 5 pm).


Johann Bauerfeind
Master student in Life Science Engineering at the University of Applied Sciences (HTW) in Berlin.
Team leader and initiator of iGEM Berlin 2014.
j.bauerfeind@igem.berlin
Klara Kaden
Medical student at the Charité.
Currently working on the topics support and coordination tasks.
k.kaden@igem.berlin
Saba Nojoumi
Graduated chemistry student at the Technische Universität Berlin.
Chief team leader and co-initiator of iGEM Berlin 2014. Laboratory supervision.
s.nojoumi@igem.berlin
Marius Wessel
Student of Computer Science at the Technical University of Berlin.
Website development team leader and responsible for the website as a whole.
m.wessel@igem.berlin
Valerian Blos
Student of Visual Communication at the University of Arts.
As collaborative Designer and Artist, he supports the team with creative input.
v.blos@igem.berlin
Leon Kokkoliadis
Studies the History of Science and Technology at the Technische Universität Berlin.
Working on the investigation of papers and articles, deals with safety laws and regulations, ethical discussion about synthetic biology, writes texts for the website.
l.kokkoliadis@igem.berlin
Aritra Chakraborty
Student of Biotechnology at Technische Universität Berlin.
Helping the iGEM team with core lab chores.
a.chakraborty@igem.berlin
Andrés Salazar
Physics student at the Technical University of Berlin.
Working on control of magnetic fields and translating for our website.
a.salazar@igem.berlin
Fabian Schildhauer
Student of Life Science Engineering at the Universit of Applied Sciences (HTW) in Berlin.
Helps the iGEM Team with lab chores.
f.schildhauer@igem.berlin
Ammar Al-Shameri
Student in Engineering of Biotechnology at the Technische Universität Berlin.
He supports the iGEM Berlin with his lab experience and bioprocessing skills.
a.al-shameri@igem.berlin
Willi Hauck
Graduated Biotechnology Student at the Technische Universität Berlin.
Mainly laboratory supervisor and general drudge.
w.hauck@igem.berlin
Sascha Kaufmann
Studies food technology at the Technische Universität Berlin.
He is involved in organisational issues and laboratory work.
s.kaufmann@igem.berlin
Ali Salaheddine
Diploma student in Engineering of Biotechnology at the Technische Universität Berlin.
He takes over tasks of lab and organizational issues. His special interest is Bioengineering and Molecular Medicine.
a.salaheddine@igem.berlin
Virginia Waitschies
Is pursuing a master porgramm in Life Science Engineering at the Universit of Applied Sciences (HTW) in Berlin.
Helps the iGEM Team with lab chores and is working on the topics support and coordination tasks.
v.waitschies@igem.berlin
Christina Riemenschneider
Diploma student in Engineering of Medical Biotechnology at the Technical University Berlin.
Helping the iGEM Team with lab chores. Her special interest is Regenerative Medicine and Tissue Engineering.
c.riemenschneider@igem.berlin
 
 
 
Benjamin Herzog, M. Sc.
Finished his studies in Molecular Life Science at the Humboldt University of Berlin.
After joining the team, he quickly became a leading member of the lab team who was responsible for the teams project management.
benjamin.herzog@alumni.hu-berlin.de